Topic outline

  • General

       Student Assessment

    • ACT

      The ACT test assesses students general academic development and predicts their readiness for college.

      In North Dakota, the state does provide funding to schools so that all high school juniors can take either the ACT or WorkKeys Skills test.

      This testing occurs in April of each year during a regular school day. Students have the option to take the ACT one or more additional times during their junior and senior years during scheduled ACT testing dates.

      Students should contact their high school counseling department for additional information.

      The ACT website is located at

      Book: 1
    • AIMSweb

       AIMSweb is a set of standardized, individually administered measures of early literacy and numeracy development.

      They are designed to be short (one minute) fluency measures used to regularly monitor the development of pre-reading and early reading skills as well as early numeracy skills.

      BPS administers this assessment to students in grades K-5 three times each year.

      The assessment also provides progress-monitoring measures that may be used throughout the school year to determine student progress in one or more of the fluency areas.

      The AIMSweb website is located at

    • MAP (NWEA)

      Measures of Academic Progress (MAP) are common core-aligned computerized adaptive assessments that provide accurate, useful information about student achievement and growth.

      BPS students in grades 3-9 are assessed in reading and math each fall and spring. Students in grades 2, 10-12 are assessed in reading and math during the spring testing window with fall testing being optional.

      The winter testing window and Language Arts assessment are optional for all students in grade 2-11.

      The MAP website is located at

      Pages: 5Books: 2URL: 1File: 1
    • MAP Primary (NWEA)

      MAP Primary is a computerized assessment system that includes screenings in early literacy and numeracy; diagnostic skills checklists in math and reading; and an adaptive survey with goals that is the precursor to MAP (used in grades 2-12).

      Students in grades K-1 are assessed with MAP Primary Goals Survey, which established a baseline RIT score in kindergarten.

      Students receiving special services may also take MAP Primary in place of regular MAP in grades 2-12.

      The MAP Primary website is located at

      Book: 1
    • NDSA Science

      The NDSA  science for grades 4, 8 and 11 is given every fall. The NDSA achievement results are reported by content area, standard, and benchmark, at the student, classroom, grade, building, district, and State level.

      The NDSA is aligned to state content standards which can be found on the Department of Public Instruction website at

      Books: 2
    • HomeSchool Testing Information

      This is a hidden page on the Assessment Moodle.  Homeschool parents can access the page by using the url.

      Book: 1
    • ViewPoint Data Warehouse

      ViewPoint Reports (link)

      ViewPoint is the district data warehouse.